Romancing the Brick Wall.

Image

The most formidable brick wall I ever came upon in my life was just five feet, six inches tall, and was absolutely beautiful. But it reduced me to tears, made me reevaluate my entire life and led me to call my father, in a helpless fit, to ask for guidance on how to scale it.

That brick wall was Jai.

   As I said in the lecture, I was always pretty adept at charging through the brick walls in my academic and professional life. I didn’t tell the audience the story about my courtship with my wife because I knew I’d get too emotional. Still, the words I said on stage completely applied to my early days with Jai:

“…The brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough. They’re there to stop the other people.”

The Last Lecture. Randy Pausch. 

Leave a Reply

